What COVID-19 has taught me?

I never thought there would come a day that human beings would avoid each other, lock themselves up at homes, disconnect with friends and family, lose hope for tomorrow, cancel plans they have been planning for a long time, live in the present, and appreciate a day without learning about bad news. If someone would have told me that someday I would witness such days in my life, I would have never imagined in my wildest dreams “a simple virus ruling the world”.

If someone would have told me that someday I would witness such days in my life, I would have never imagined in my wildest dreams “a simple virus ruling the world”.

Shama Hassan

Well, things happen beyond our expectations and life is cruel. This pandemic hasn’t just messed up our schedules and plans, but damaged the economy, shut down schools, universities, offices, big businesses and most importantly has killed many beautiful souls around the world. COVID-19 has disturbed the whole world and negatively impacted everyone without discrimination. From the strongest and powerful countries like US, China, and Russia to the poorest and insecure countries like Afghanistan, Syria, and Palestine, all have been impacted. Everyone has their own struggles, whether a person as rich as the president of the country or as poor as the street workers and beggars on the streets, but maybe what most of us are calling struggles are the dreams of others.

…but maybe what most of us are calling struggles are the dreams of others.

Shama Hassan

Social media, TV channels, news headlines everywhere show us posts and news about CORONA virus and how people are struggling or coping with it. I have seen most of the celebrities, my friends, families, and other people posting on how they are spending their days in lockdown. They post their pictures with delicious food they cook, books they read, games they play, homes and rooms they clean, movies and series they watch, pets they keep and play with and many other things they do in lockdown that otherwise they wouldn’t have done with busy schedules and plans at school or workplace. But it seems that they still do not enjoy all these pleasures because they post things like “Literally dying in lockdown” or “When will this end” and share many other pessimistic posts.

However, there are people out there dying to live the life most of the people are complaining about. Why can’t we find comfort in small things we do? Why don’t we try to compromise sometimes instead of whining on social media? Why don’t we appreciate blessings? Why do we take everything for granted? Why are we so connected in fake world “social media”, but hate and avoid each other in real life? Why do we just pretend to be good people,  but we never try to actually be one? Why are we so selfish? Why always thinking of our own benefits and dreams, why don’t we think about helping others in achieving their dreams?

Why can’t we find comfort in small things we do? Why don’t we try to compromise sometimes instead of whining on social media? Why don’t we appreciate blessings? Why do we take everything for granted?

Shama Hassan

There are so many other questions like this I have never thought of before this lockdown. There is a saying, “every disappointment is a blessing.” I know COVID has disappointed many of us and has completely changed our lifestyles, but let’s focus on the positive lessons it has taught us. To me personally it has taught me many things. It has taught me to care for others and help them; taught me not to take my blessings, friends, family for granted; taught me to be grateful and positive in every situation; taught me that life is more valuable than norms and standards set by the society;  and, taught me to be nice and understand before I judge and reach a conclusion.

It has taught me to care for others and help them; taught me not to take my blessings, friends, family for granted; taught me to be grateful and positive in every situation; taught me that life is more valuable than norms and standards set by the society;  and, taught me to be nice and understand before I judge and reach a conclusion.

Shama Hassan

It has helped me strengthen my connection with my god (Allah), taught me to never expect, but to believe that everything is possible. It has taught me to be positive and smile, taught me to only live in present, learn from the past and don’t care about the future. Long story short, it has taught me to be a human and that humanity should come first. Social media is the only platform we communicate through these days, so let’s use it positively to share and spread love, positivity, kindness, and extend help to each other. Peace, prayers, love, respect and humanity should be the core elements of human life rather than money, success, luxury, and greed.

…it has taught me to be a human and that humanity should come first.

Shama Hassan

Author: Shama Hassan studied Business Administration with a concentration in finance at the American University of Afghanistan. She is currently working for Afghan Women Educational Center empowering women in local communities by raising awareness and educating them about their rights. She is working as a Project Manager/Finance Officer for ‘Women & Peace’ project, which works with women at grassroots level in 8 provinces and provides them training on conflict resolution.

Editor: Tom Valenti